College of Arts and Sciences

Our Mission

The mission of the Department of Geography at Indiana University is to be a national and international center of excellence in research and instruction within key subfields of geography. The key subfields are Climate, Land and Environmental Change, Food and Agriculture, Geographic Information Systems and Remote Sensing, Globalization, Development and Justice, and Water Resources.

Our History


Justin Maxwell recently received the John Russell Mather Paper of the Year Award from the Climate Specialty Group of the Association of American Geographers.

Taehee Hwang recently received a grant from NASA. Darren Ficklin recently received a grant from National Science Foundation.  

Justin Maxwell recently received grants from the National Science Foundation and the US Department of Agriculture.

facebook pininterest twitter Give Now

Diversity statement

Geography is an interdisciplinary field that brings together the physical and social sciences, and as such represents the core values of university education. Our diverse department is comprised of scholars, students, and staff from a wide range of cultures, nationalities, races, and social backgrounds who work together to create an inclusive space of engagement and dialogue. Our classes deal with the pressing issues of our time, from climate change and water quality to racism, sexism, and economic inequality, and we are committed to maintaining an environment of inclusiveness, respect, and social justice in our classrooms and on campus.